Golf Results 2016


Tuncurry Golf Club was once again the venue for the 2016 Northern Golf Tials for students from Catholic and Independent schools. Tuncurry Golf Club is nestled in behind the sand dunes at Tuncurry and rated in the top 100 public access courses in Australia.

Open Boys Gross Winner on the day was 2015 NSW All Schools representative Jackson Jubelin, MacKillop College Port Macquarie with an outstanding round of 2 under par 70.  Jackson won from Brandon Biddle with 76.

Under 15 boys winner was Corey Lamb who carded an impressive 76 to win by 5 shots from Port Macquarie’s Oli Payne on 81.  Corey was runner up lat year so it was pleasing to see him go one better in 2016.

Recent rain insured the tight Tuncurry layout would play to its full length with thick rough and little run to help the shorter hitters.  In the Open girl’s divisions Lily Baker from Port Macquarie won but was upstaged by the juniors

Annika Boyd, MacKillop College Warnervale emulated her feat from 2015 to take out the junior girls division with a 89 from Piper Hollis, St Clare’s Taree (94).

A huge thank you to the staff at Tuncurry, particularly Jo in the Pro shop and club captain Geoff Vial and wife Robyn. Adam in the Pro Shop was also very helpful to all the players. NSWCCC is very grateful to all those associated with the hosting of the tournament which reduces travel and associated costs for students in the north of the state. All the players look forward to the All Schools Championships and Jack Newton Shield events which will be hosted by Tuncurry Golf Club, Tallwoods Golf Club and Forster Golf Club in May.



Monday the 14th March was the date for the NSWCCC Southern Golf Trials held at Macquarie Links Golf Club. Perfect weather conditions and an immaculately presented course greeted players in Sydney’s south west.

Boys were tested off the black makers as the challenging layout played to its full length. In the 15 and under boy’s division Harrison Crowe, St Mary’s Cathedral School Sydney won with a fine score of 76 from Bart Carroll, Kildare Catholic College Wagga Wagga with 83. Open Boy’s winner for 2016 was Jones Comerford, St John’s Dubbo who shot a very solid round of 72 from Harry Doig, Marist College Eastwood with 73. Harry and Jones will represent NSWCCC at the NSW All Schools Matchplay Championships at Tuncurry Golf Club in May.

The girls also played well with Monica Johnson, Our Lady of Sacred Heart College Kensington prevailing over Danielle Vasquez, St Joseph’s Catholic High School Albion Park in the 15 and under division. Monica shot even par 73 whist Dani recovered from a 5 over par front nine to blaze home in 3 under to shoot 75. Monica and Dani will also represent NSWCCC at the All School’s Matchplay Championships.

In the Open girls division, this year’s winner was 2015 All School’s representative Casey Cook, Lumen Christi College Pambula from Bella Woodley, Freeman Catholic College Bonnyrigg.

The next event for boys on handicaps of 6 or less and girls on 20 or below is the NSW All School’s Championships set down for Tallwoods/ Tuncurry Golf Courses during the first week in May. Four players from NSWCCC represented NSW All Schools in the 12 person team that won both the School Sport Australia boys and girls Matchplay titles in Canberra. With great depth in the younger brigade a high level of representation for NSWCCC players is expected to continue for the next few years. Thanks must go to CIS Convener Josh Davis, clubhouse and proshop staff of Macquarie Links Golf Club.

To view Results >>

Lionel Conroy

NSWCCC Golf Convener