Students in NSW Catholic Primary Schools had limited representative opportunities in sport prior to 1995. In 1982, mutually interested dioceses developed sporting exchanges in Rugby League, Netball and Hockey, where students had the chance to compete against other diocesan teams. In 1987, an Inter Diocesan Sports Council comprising the Dioceses of Armidale, Bathurst, Canberra/Goulburn, Lismore, Maitland/Newcastle, Parramatta, Wagga Wagga, Wilcannia/Forbes and Wollongong was established. On an invitational basis these Dioceses also took part in swimming, cross country and athletics carnivals.  Events were held in Sydney and NSW country towns and gave students attending Catholic primary schools the opportunity to represent their school and ultimately their diocese in these sports. 

In 1995 the NSW Catholic Primary School Sports Council (NSW CPSSC) was established to coordinate a representative sports structure involving students and teachers in the NSW Catholic primary and central schools. The Counci is made up of appointed representatives from each of the NSW Catholic Dioceses and is accountable to the Conference of Directors. The NSW CPSSC acted under the authority of the Catholic Sports Coordinating Committee (CSSS) until 2012, when it was replaced by the Catholic Schools Sports Services (CSSS).

The NSW CPSSC is comprised of two (2) regions eligible to participate in the NSW PSSA state fixtures.

MacKillop: READ MORE

Polding: READ MORE